Wildlife Protected Areas and Tiger Reserves of India

Project Tiger was launched by the Government of India in the year 1973 to save the endangered species of tiger in the country. Beginning with nine tiger reserves in 1973-74 the number has grown up to forty nine in 2016. These project tiger areas cover a total area of 70, 286 sq km. Key statistics of tiger reserves in India are as under:


Protected Areas:

Definition: A clearly defined geographical space, recognized, dedicated and managed, through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long-term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services.


Birds protected areas in India

  • Rajiv Gandhi NP (Andhra Pradesh)
  • Pobitora WS (Assam)
  • Dibru Saikhowa WS (Assam)
  • D’Ering Memorial WS (Arunachal Pradesh)
  • Pakhui WS (Arunachal Pradesh)
  • Namdapha TR (Arunachal Pradesh)
  • Shoolpaneshwar WS (Gujarat)
  • Wild Ass WS (Gujarat)
  • Great Himalayan NP (Himachal Pradesh)
  • Majhatal Harsang WS (Himachal Pradesh)
  • Kalesar WS (Haryana)
  • Eravikulam NP (Kerala)
  • Chinnar WS (Kerala)
  • Chendurang WS (Kerala)
  • Radhanagari WS (Maharashtra)
  • Blue Mountain (Phawngpui) NP (Mizoram)
  • Bhitarkanika WS (Orissa)
  • Sajjangarh WS (Rajasthan)
  • Sariska Tiger Reserve (Rajasthan)
  • Mudumalai WS (Tamil Nadu)
  • Rajaji NP (Uttaranchal)
  • Cobertt NP (Uttaranchal)
  • Buxa TR (West Bengal)
  • Jaldapara WS (West Bengal)

Leave a Reply